Dragon Age Origins: No, that beard doesn’t make you look gay, the armor does.

November 4, 2009

I don’t really get high fantasy.  Lord of the Rings never did a thing for me, books or movies, and I similarly have no attachment to Baldur’s Gate or games like it.  However, I did like Mass Effect, so I decided to give Dragon Age Origins a spin.  I’m not entirely sure what I think.

This is not really Mass Effect with a fantasy vibe.  It is a traditional RPG that I’m not really used to.  The conversation parts are instantly familiar – someone says something, I click a choice, and things happen.  Unlike ME, there’s no gray area for reactions.  I say “Hey, fuck off” and people fuck off.  This leads to a fun meta-game I have where I try to be as stand-offish as possible and then pull it back from the brink.

I’m still at the beginning of the game – nothing really grabs me enough to make me play in long sessions.  But nothing’s really stopping me and that’s a much better result than I thought.

Leave a Reply

